Halbert W. Hall Speaker’s Series on Science Fiction and Fantasy

By Marketing and Communications | 03-21-2016

The Halbert W. Hall Speaker’s Series on Science Fiction and Fantasy is a series of lectures on the topic of science fiction and fantasy. Named after Hal Hall, this series is a tribute to his work as a Science Fiction scholar and bibliographer, as well as his role in launching the Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection at Cushing Memorial Library and Archives. 

The inaugural lecture will feature the acclaimed author, Michael Moorcock and will be held on Monday, March 28th at 4:30 p.m. in MSC 2406B. Refreshments will be served.

Schedule of events:

Dean David H. Carlson - Introductory Remarks

Halbert W. Hall - Overview of Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection at Cushing

Michael Moorcock - Featured Lecture

Q&A to follow

Michael Moorcock is an internationally renowned writer, widely acknowledged in particular the works that chronicle his wide-spanning literary “Multiverse”, a universe consisting of innumerable alternate worlds that overlap and interact, and in which characters continually recur under new names and identities. Many of Mr. Moorcock’s most notable protagonists in the Multiverse are incarnations of the Eternal Champion, an endlessly recurring figure destined to preserve the great cosmic order between Law and Chaos.  Incarnations of the Champion about whom Mr. Moorcock has written include Duke Dorian Hawkmoon, secret agent Jerry Cornelius,  British adventurer Oswald Bastable, and, perhaps most famously, the fantastical antihero Elric of Melnibone.
Mr. Moorcock is one of the most recognized and critically acclaimed fantasy and science fiction writers of the age. He won the Nebula Award for Best Novella in 1968 for the controversial “Behold The Man”, and the 1979 World Fantasy Award for the novel Gloriana, or, The Unfulfll’d Queen, a fantasy tale of an alternate Elizabethan England. He has won the August Derleth Fantasy Award four times, the British Fantasy Award for Best Short Story ("The Jade Man's Eyes", 1974), and the 1977 Guardian Fiction Award (for The Condition of Muzak). He has also won the 1993 British Fantasy Award, the 2000 World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement, the 2004 Prix Utopiales "Grandmaster" Lifetime Achievement Award, the 2004 Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement, and the 2008 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award from the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. He was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 2002.

For information, please contact Jeremy Brett, Archivist and Curator, Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection, at 979-845-1951, or jwbrett@library.tamu.edu 

Give Now! Support The Libraries

Your gifts support the University Libraries as they strive to make positive impacts on the research needs of the Texas A&M community and beyond. You may express your support with a gift or by joining the Friends of Sterling C. Evans Library.